Pictured Rocks: 8/7/2015

This weekend was the perfect trip to get back to backpacking.

Before we started our hike, we stopped at Wagner Falls.

IMG_1518

We parked near the Log Slide and hiked to our first campsite at Au Sable. It was a great site! It was huge and had two bear lockers and a bear pole. Plus, the ground was fairly level with minimal roots. Though there was a slight drizzle, it was more refreshing than troublesome.

One of the (many) things I love about backpacking is being able to see something far in the distance and realize that you will be hiking there within the same day

One of the (many) things I love about backpacking is being able to see something far in the distance and realize that you will be hiking there within the same day. That is the lighthouse we visited.

IMG_1524

Sand dunes in the distance

One of the things I really appreciated about the group I was with was that they took the time to understand my diabetes. I did get one comment about how I ended up with diabetes since I don’t look like I should have it, but she patiently listened to me explain the difference between Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes. It means so much to me when people take a few minutes to listen to me explain what’s going on with my body.

Once we were set up at our site, we did the short hike to the lighthouse. It was cool looking at the older buildings, but the lakeshore was gorgeous. On one side, there was a sandstone shore. On the other side, it was a little sandier and had a ton of beautiful rocks. There were also some shipwrecks. While most people dive to look at them, we were able to see some pieces at the surface. (The pictures below are posted as a gallery so to see them bigger, click an individual picture).

After taking in the sites (and enjoying some fresh, wild blueberries), we came back to camp for dinner. While discussing our plans for the remainder of the trip, we came to the realization that we would not have a chance to swim at our other campsite. Naturally, we decided to go swimming in Lake Superior. I chose to just wade, but some of my hiking buddies  swore it wasn’t all that bad because your body just went numb. It was cold. Really cold.

IMG_1563IMG_1564

We ended the night with an awesome fire.

IMG_1561

Leave a Reply

