So it Begins: The Long Version of Why I’m Starting this Blog

Few people have an opportunity to take on an entirely new adventure in a location that is overflowing with a history of adventure; I am lucky enough to return to the location of the largest adventure I’ve had thus far; Philmont Scout Ranch.

On July 28, 2011, my trek at Philmont Scout Ranch was ending, but I already knew I needed to find a way to come back. I cannot quite explain the draw Philmont has, but it is an incredible one.

Fast-forward to early march when I realized that in less than a month and a half, I would be returning to Wisconsin and would need a summer job. Remembering the application I had sitting in my desk drawer, I decided I would apply, a tad late, to Philmont Scout Ranch. On March 29, 2012, I learned that I would be returning to Philmont as a staff member.

On May 14, as I was waiting for the train that would take me to Chicago where I would then switch trains and head to Raton, I started to recognize how big of a change this would be for me. I had never been that far away from home completely alone; it would be my first job (besides babysitting and math tutoring); I would have the opportunity to backpack to my heart’s content on my off days. I was absolutely overwhelmed by these thoughts and others.

After working here for 2 1/2 weeks, the overwhelmed feelings are now replaced with a sense of awe and an intense desire to try to share all these incredible experiences I am having. Though I recognize it is nearly impossible for me to adequately explain these amazing experiences, I hope that sharing just parts will allow me to channel this excitement and give anyone who reads this a glimpse into my summer.

4 responses to “So it Begins: The Long Version of Why I’m Starting this Blog

  1. Katelynne, we’re trapped back in the real world, so we’re going to need pictures, where you work specifically, and daily or twice daily updates from you.

    You only get one first year at Philmont!

  2. I am a Philstaff alum, Ranger 86, 87, Conservation 88
    Psyched tol follow your experience
    Where are you working, and when do we get pictures?

  3. Hi, I am going to follow you all summer! Both my boys are working out there. Brian is working his 6th summer as CD at Fish camp. Travis is working his 3rd summer at Pueblano! Where are you working? Tell us about all the camps you visit! Take care, Jeannine Payne

Leave a comment